House Republicans Select McCarthy as New Majority Leader

(Washington, DC)  --  California Republican Congressman Kevin McCarthy will be the new House Majority Leader.  House Republicans made the selection in a closed meeting at the Capitol.  McCarthy is the Majority Whip, the third-ranking post in the GOP caucus.  He will replace Eric Cantor when he steps down as Majority Leader at the end of July.  Cantor recently lost a primary election in Virginia.   

House Republicans are now choosing McCarthy's replacement as Majority Whip.  The candidates are Louisiana's Steve Scalise,  Indiana's Martin Stutzman and Peter Roskam from Illinois.  Roskam is the Chief Deputy Whip.  


More Articles


TALK 1230 WTKG is an iHeartRadio Station

© 2015 iHeartMedia, Inc.